Veloce Wood-Fired Pizze

Veloce Wood-Fired Pizze

1450 Park Avenue West
Highland Park IL 60035
847-780-4913

Hours:
Tue: - 11:00am , 8:00pm
Wed: - 11:00am , 8:00pm
Thu: - 11:00am , 8:00pm
Fri: - 11:00am , 8:00pm
Sat: - 11:00am , 8:00pm

Visit Us

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Facebook
  • Google My Business
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 21, 2020 by Dan M

    Great food. Priced well. Clean place, easy access to pickup.

  • Nov 19, 2020 by Claudia B.

    Amazing Pizza and Sandwiches! A must stop if you are a local or just driving by as I was. I will definitely back whenever I am in the area.

  • Nov 11, 2020 by Monica Calomini

    My friend Erik told me to come here and the sandwiches are amazing

  • Nov 11, 2020 by Stella W.

    OMG. The sandwiches was as good as I remembered. The bread is to die for. They really should sell a stack of these!   I added the mild giardiniera to my turkey sandwiches, which proven to be a smart move! LOL. Hubby enjoyed his spicy calabrese just like last time. I just realized the VIP club gets you free pizza after 7th visit. I will for sure be signing up next time! Great friendly customer service! Love the pizza crust and the sandwich bread!! The foundation of good pizza and sandwich :) The pizza is on the lighter side, so like the other reviewer said, if one pairs it with another item on the menu would make a good 2-person meal. Sandwich is so yummy that I will be back for! The pesto pizza had great flavor! Great topping combo! Only thing is that the oil from the pesto pizza was all sipped through to the box when we got home, so the pizza was a bit drier than the red pizza we had...

  • Nov 07, 2020 by Christian S.

    We stopped here on a gorgeous Fall day and ate outside at the picnic tables. We got an arugula prosciutto pizza and an Italian beef and a spicy sandwich. All delicious! Great prices for tasty fresh and fast food. It took 10 mins or less to get it all brought out to us from the time we ordered. Bravo!!

  • Nov 06, 2020 by Lia C.

    I'm a pizza snob.  I make my own dough and love all style pies.  I have a secret crush on wood fired pizza because I don't have one and I respect the art.  It's about really good ingredients balanced well and done right.  This place does it where you get good char and chew but it's not burnt. Veloce knocks it out of the park. I ordered the specialty potato pizza, Italian beef, and prosciutto arugula pies. Pros: Delivered fast (door dash) and hot.  Packages really well meaning it didn't arrive a mess and arugula was on the side so it wouldn't wilt.   Italian beef pizza is not very traditional but was life changing.   Prosciutto pizza was perfect nice salt and bitterness from arugula that had oil and Parmesan on it. Potato pizza has great flavor.   Cons: ( not knocks, but my suggestions) Have the Quattro pizza on door dash.  I would have ordered it but it wasn't there Potato pizza needed a little more oil, was a little dry but the herbs and potato are great.   Italian beef pizza, put less of the toppings in the middle and more closer to the edge as the center was a bit soggy and messy to eat.   I'd you want a place making real wood wired pizza with real good ingredients check this place out.  I'll be back for the salumi and Quattro pizza!

  • Nov 03, 2020 by Gregg B.

    Extremely friendly owners/staff, and some of the best sandwiches available in Highland Park.  Highly recommended.

  • Oct 23, 2020 by Max Carr

    Was told to get food from here and I'm telling people in the area to come and support this place.

  • Oct 23, 2020 by Abby White

    My friend Erik told me to get food from here and it is amazing!

  • Oct 22, 2020 by Peter C.

    I give it  4 1/2 stars the pizzas are small so you have to order a lot of pizza and ingredients really good very impressive

  • Oct 18, 2020 by Pam GUSSIS

    We enjoyed 3 pizzas, the Margherita, Sausage and prosciutto & arugula pizzas. The crust is delicious! Thoughtfully prepared with the arugula in a separate container to keep pizza warm. Fast Curbside pickup.

  • Sep 30, 2020 by Robert Wallace

    This place is FANTASTIC!!! I hope everyone comes to know this little treasure right in our backyard. TOP NOTCH AUTHENTIC NEAPOLITAN PIZZA. A++++

  • Sep 25, 2020 by Stella W.

    Great friendly customer service! Love the pizza crust and the sandwich bread!! The foundation of good pizza and sandwich :) The pizza is on the lighter side, so like the other reviewer said, if one pairs it with another item on the menu would make a good 2-person meal. Sandwich is so yummy that I will be back for! The pesto pizza had great flavor! Great topping combo! Only thing is that the oil from the pesto pizza was all sipped through to the box when we got home, so the pizza was a bit drier than the red pizza we had...

  • Sep 25, 2020 by Bruce H.

    Well I rarely write bad reviews but I can't recommend people order from here.  The pizza is bland. No flavor. Not much tastier than a frozen pizza. And the crust in particular tastes unusual and overly chewy. I love to support local and new businesses but have to be honest as I'm a pizza lover.

  • Sep 16, 2020 by Jennie M.

    The reason for the updated review of only 3 stars is because of how inconsistent the dough/bread is cooked. And yes I called and talked to (who I assume was) the owner to discuss, a while back because they were new and I know it takes a bit to figure it all out and just wanted to know what we should expect when we order. We've order many many times. I get a sandwich every time and the bread is never the same. Half the time it's cooked crispy, has nice brown spots from the oven and other times its barely cooked and doughy/chewy. It really is every other order it's this way. As mentioned I did reach out to see how it should be (after a handful of orders being so different, I wanted to know if it should be crispy or doughy) and really didn't get an answer. I was told at the time because it was humid and the temps were so wacky, the dough doesn't always come out the same. I can understand that so now we don't order if it's humid but it hasn't made a difference. Last order the bread was crispy and tonight it's not, it's chewy because it's not fully cooked. It happens with the pizza's too. Sometimes almost burnt and times like tonight barely crispy. The inside ingredients of the sandwich are wonderful and fresh. Same goes for the pizza toppings. Fresh and flavorful.  It's such a bummer because when the bread is cooked they make one hell of an AMAZING sandwich and I crave it a lot but just don't order as much as I would because of the inconsistency. Wow! This pizza was so good! So much my sig other said let's order from here from now on! We got the Veloce special and the bruschetta pizza. The crust! So crisp and light! The Veloce special is a white pizza topped with potato and lots of pepper. We will def be back to try more stuff!

  • Sep 06, 2020 by Ethan K.

    This place is amazing. One of my new favorite restaurants in the area. The pizza is great, just not your typical Chicago style pizza. However, I'm ADDICTED to their sandwiches. For $7-9 you're getting an absolute steal. I'd easily pay $10-12 for them, their so addicting

  • Aug 18, 2020 by Zach S.

    Great sandwiches and pizza. I got the margarita and the turkey sandwich. Both were delicious. There are also a couple outside tables where you can eat. I definitely recommend.

  • Aug 08, 2020 by B987 V.

    AAAAAAAMMMMMAAAAYYYYYYZZZZZZINGLLLLLLYYY GOOD!!! These people know how to make a pizza. Had the quattro gusti tonight - I am SUPER impressed. Every aspect was perfect. You've got to try it. Really. Haven't been able to get a great pizza in ages... then we found this little place.  Superb crust, superb pizza in every way.  Great safe service. We will be enjoying it again [and again [[and again]].

  • Aug 08, 2020 by Randie R.

    Tried this place after reading all the good reviews and it didn't disappoint.  The food was amazing my whole family loved the pizza and sandwiches!!!  Great quality and quantity for the money.  This is our new go to place.  Loved it!!!!!

  • Aug 08, 2020 by Randie R.

    Just tried the food after reading all the good reviews and it really was AMAZING!!!!  My whole family loved the pizza and sandwiches.  The price is also very reasonable for the quality and quantity!!  Love it this will be one of our go to places for now on!!!!

  • Aug 06, 2020 by Chris B.

    I tried this for the first time today, it’s very tasty pizza! Quick and friendly service!

  • Aug 01, 2020 by Lance Krumholz

    Great pizza. Best pizza in the area.

  • Jul 26, 2020 by Olha S.

    Amazing pizza & great customer service Non-greasy and perfect wood-fired thin crust Excellent choices for toppings Reasonable prices Hoping your business grows despite tough times Please support local businesses in Highland Park

  • Jul 22, 2020 by Randy Forman
    Recommended:

    fantastic pizza...would hold its own in the city!

  • Jul 21, 2020 by Mike C.

    Man!!! This was soooo good. Got the roast beef sandwich and this was 10/10. Added some light giardiniera cause theirs was HOT. soooo good I enjoyed literally every bite and wished there was more when I was finished. I will be back without a doubt.

  • Jul 19, 2020 by Linda Lavigne Davis
    Recommended:

    Love Veloce! The sandwiches are so unbelievably good as is the pizza.

  • Jul 18, 2020 by Scott G.

    Great little spot!  Just tried Veloce for the first time and I'm a huge fan.  We ordered sandwiches and the ingredients were so fresh and the wood fired bread was perfectly crisp.  Can't wait to try the pizza.

  • Jul 18, 2020 by Scott G.

    Great little spot!  Just tried Veloce for the first time and I'm a huge fan.  We ordered sandwiches and the ingredients were so fresh and the wood fired bread was perfectly crisp.  Can't wait to try the pizza.

  • Jun 24, 2020 by trinidad lara

    Currently eating the pizza I just picked up from here my god it’s some good pizza! Perfect crunch on the pizza! Will definitely come back again and try some of the sandwiches they have

  • Jun 24, 2020 by Beth G.

    Decided to try Veloce for something different, and based on the good yelp reviews. It did not disappoint! The pizza and the salad were very delicious. Next we will try their sandwiches. Glad we discovered Veloce!

  • Jun 24, 2020 by Beth G.

    Decided to try Veloce for something different, and based on the good yelp reviews. It did not disappoint! The pizza and the salad were very delicious. Next we will try their sandwiches. Glad we discovered Veloce!

  • Jun 20, 2020 by Mark F.

    The pizza was a welcome sight after arriving back to Highland Park.  Authentic taste.  Staff seemed caring. I certainly recommend Veloce if you are a fan of authentic Italian style thin crust wood oven pizza.  Priced right in a small cozy storefront amongst a small business area directly behind Dunkin Donuts.

  • Jun 09, 2020 by Andrea T.

    We are so excited that we discovered that you opened shop right up the street from us.  We have been dying for a good pizza since we moved here over 4 years ago! We ordered our first pizzas and cold cut sandwhich and all were EXCELLENT!!  We can't wait until our next "cheat" day because we are definitely ordering again!

  • May 27, 2020 by D b.

    Great crust, fresh toppings. reasonably priced,close by and fast A new 'go-to' pizza place on the west side of HP

  • May 21, 2020 by Nazar Martyniouk

  • May 14, 2020 by Angela S.

    #ThankYouThursday First of all, these guys are soooo friendly! In my book that's key. But combine excellent customer service with a great product, and you can't ask for anything more in a great local business. I've been meaning to visit Veloce for some time now. Every Sunday for our Dunkin' run, I see the sign for these guys and keep saying to my hubby, "we need to order food from there soon." Tonight was that night! It's all in the wood-fired process. I tell you, there's nothing better than that light and crispy-fired dough. Yum! We ordered a Margharita pizza and turkey sandwich. We were convinced the pizza wouldn't fill us up, so we ordered a couple things to try. The pizza was light and lively, and a great appetizer to be shared. I think if you were to mix pizza and a salad, it would be the perfect meal for two people. The turkey sandwich was honestly one of the best sandwiches I've had! Made with fresh mozzarella, cucumbers, lettuce, tomato, and a cilantro-lime dressing, it was reasonably priced at $7, and TBH, perfect for sharing! It was SO good, The crust was light and crispy. The ingredients were incredibly refreshing. My most favorite bite was the contrast of lightly wood-fired crust and heavy fresh mozzarella all in one. This sandwich will be added to our regular rotation for sure. Veloce is tucked away by Dunkin' Donuts, so it's kind of hard to find. However, this restaurant is totally worth the adventure, and they have onsite parking and easy pick up.

  • May 02, 2020 by Megan Lundgren
    Recommended:

    Amazing wood fire pizza! Quick, affordable, and tasty! Staff are friendly ! :) can be personal pizza depending how hungry you are

  • May 02, 2020 by Megan L.

    Such a great spin on pizza!! Affordable quick made fire wood pizza with many varieties. They also have sandwiches. Staff are very nice. I think that if you're hungry you can eat an entire pizza yourself so definitely could be a personal pizza! They have vegetarian options as well.

  • Apr 24, 2020 by Michael Federman

    I tried this place today for the first time, new restaurant opening their doors amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, and outside of the fact it was something different than what we have at home, their pizza was absolutely amazing.

    We ordered the Bruschetta and the Sausage pizzas, and we were fighting over the last pieces. I am not usually a fan of Italian Sausage, but this Sausage was fantastic, and I wish there was more on the pizza.

    My only complaint is that they are a 5 minute walk or 1 minute drive from my house, so I may be there a too often.

  • Apr 15, 2020 by B.K. Cariaga
    Recommended:

    This new place is fire

  • Apr 11, 2020 by Mike Freeman
    Recommended:

    Fantastic Neapolitan Pie

  • Apr 08, 2020 by Marc S.

    Picked up from here last night, pizza was great. Some interesting toppings, really enjoyed both the Italian beef as well as the potato pizza.  Add this local find to your pizza list!!